Chandrakant Pandit’s Moving Story of Winning Ranji Trophy for MP | Cricket News

BANGALURU: When Rajat Patidar hit winning shot to help Madhya Pradesh land maiden Ranji Trophy title after beating 41-time champions Mumbai by six wickets here at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, head coach Pandit Chandrakant couldn’t hold back her tears.
The venue was the same from which he emerged with tears in his eyes after losing the Ranji Trophy final as captain in the 1998-99 season in April 1999, beaten by Karnataka by a margin of 96 points.
Since the team’s inception in the 1950s, it was their best chance to win the trophy. Months of hard work was in vain as Pandit walked out of the room without the silverware in his hands.
Although he guided Mumbai and Vidarbha to titles as a coach, he failed in his bid to win the MP title as a player and he had to live with that.

(Photo PTI)
But it was in the 2020-21 season that he had the chance to become the manager of Madhya Pradesh and finally win the team’s title as a manager. But the tournament could not take place because of the Covid-19.
The current generation of Madhya Pradesh cricketers have continued to make their head coach proud of their brand of cricket, including players like Rajat Patidar, Yash Dubey, Shubham Sharma, Kumar Kartikeya and Gaurav Yadav. The batters racked up runs, the bowlers consistently took wickets and it helped the team claim their first title, with Patidar having the honor of hitting the winning runs against 41-time champions Mumbai.
A tear-eyed Pandit proud of his boys couldn’t help but run across the field. When his boys lifted him up on their shoulders, they also took away that burden he could have lived with forever, of not winning his first Deputy Ranji title. Life had come full circle for Pandit as the stadium he left in tears years ago was now the venue where the next generation of Madhya Pradesh cricket won for Pandit the title he could have won there. years ago as a player on the same side. .
Post-match, Pandit called the victory emotional, saying, “It’s a great memory I left 23 years ago (he lost the Ranji Trophy final as captain MP in 1998-99) and it’s a blessing to come back here, and to win that trophy was fabulous. It’s emotional because I missed out as captain on the same pitch.”
Highlighting his challenge-loving nature and his long association with MP, he added: “There is no particular reason but I am looking for a challenging job where the teams are not doing well, there should also be young and I used to play for MP and played for them for six years, I knew the culture and when the offer came to me in March I didn’t hesitate. There were a few offers but I chose MP because I left something 23 years ago and God willingly brought me back to the same state Sometimes the talent is there but you have to develop the culture and whatever the game demands, I try to instill them.
Pandit praised captain Aditya Shrivastava saying, “Aditya was an outstanding captain, the plans and strategies we are discussing, he was not afraid to implement them on the pitch. The captain wins the team 50 % of the time and he did a fantastic job even though he wasn’t getting any runs. I owe this trophy to Madhya Pradesh. I would like to thank all the supporters, Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association and Madhavrao Scindia.
Coming to the game, Mumbai started day five at 113/2. Thanks to the efforts of Suved Parkar (51), Sarfaraz Khan (45) and Prithvi Shaw, they reached 269/10, giving MP a target 108 to win.
MP lost a few wickets in their pursuit of 108 but won the game by six wickets with Patidar (30*) and skipper Shrivastava (1*) driving the team home.
Earlier at bat first, Mumbai went 374/10 on the board. Sarfaraz Khan (134), Yashasvi Jaiswal (78) and Prithvi Shaw (47) played crucial shots for Mumbai. Pacer Gaurav Yadav was the star of the MP with the ball, taking 4/106 while pace partner Anubhav Agarwal took 3/81.
In the second innings of the match, Madhya Pradesh were absolutely dominant with the bat, putting a whopping 536/10 on the board and earning a 162 run lead. Yash Dubey (133), Shubham Sharma (116) and Rajat Patidar (122) were the key MP stars with their centuries.
Shams Mulani was Mumbai’s key bowler, taking 5/173 while average player Tushar Deshpande took 3/116.

Comments are closed.